MIDI Excerpt

Perusal scores are downloadable and viewable but not printable.

Instrumentation: Saxophone quartet (soprano, alto, tenor, baritone)

Duration: ca. 8-10 minutes

(all movements performed attacca)
i. chorus
ii. soprano recitative
iii. tenor aria
iv. alto aria
v. chorus
vi. soprano aria
vii. tenor recitative—arioso
viii. baritone recitative
ix. chorus

Year composed: 2015

Place composed: Kansas City, Missouri

Program Notes: Cantata is modeled after the form of J.S. Bach’s cantatas, a mix of solo recitatives, solo arias and tutti choruses. As in Bach’s cantatas, the recitatives in this piece are more lightly accompanied, with only one performer in addition to the soloist, and the arias more fully accompanied, with two or three additional performers. The recitatives are faster and shorter, providing a showcase for the featured instrument, while the arias are slower, longer and more lyrical. The choruses, at the beginning, middle and end of the piece, involve all of the performers and tie the recitatives and arias together. Cantata explores the relationships between the members of the saxophone quartet, and highlights the variety of timbral and textural effects available to the ensemble.